Eric Cole wins the 2019 Joey D Golf Match Play Championship
Cole defeated Blake Morris 2&1 on the Estate course at PGA National
Wednesday, October 30, 2019

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Eric Cole of Delray Beach and Orlando, FL, has become the first two-time winner in the nine years of the Minor League Golf Tour’s Match Play Championship. Cole never trailed Wednesday afternoon in a 2 and 1 victory over Blake Morris of Waterbury, CT, on the Estate course at PGA National.

In 2016, Cole beat Piri Borja of Coral Springs by the same 2 and 1 margin in the finals at Martin Downs Country Club in Palm City. Borja was the qualifying medalist here earlier this week with a six under par 65 but lost to Morris 1-up in the semifinals Wednesday morning. In the other semifinal, Cole beat Eric Beringer of Philadelphia 2-up.

Eric Cole and Blake Morris

In the championship match, Cole and Morris exchanged winning holes with birdies before the former broke away by winning the eighth, ninth and 10th holes for a 3-up lead. Morris lost the 12th with bogey, then won the next three holes with birdies, cutting his deficit to one but then lost the par-4 16th. Both birdied the par-4 17th, Cole first from 10 feet to clinch the victory. The duo made a combined 14 birdies in the final match. Cole was -7 through 17 holes, Morris -5.

Match Play Bracket

It was Cole’s 49th MLGT title since August, 2009. He earned $2,500, Morris $1,800, from the $15,300 purse. Cole, 31, is the son of former tour pros Bobby Cole and Laura Baugh Cole.

Eric Cole

A big thank you to PGA National Golf Club and it's membership for hosting and Joey D Golf for sponsoring the event.

Joey D Golf

#1 seed Piri Borja, Blake Morris, Eric Beringer and Eric Cole advance to the seminfinals Wednesday morning

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - Number one seed Piri Borja needed 19 holes to outlast sixteen seed Josh Goldenberg. He would then go on to beat Justin Bryant 2&1 to earn a berth in the semifinals. Blake Morris, Eric Beringer and Eric Cole would also advance to the semifinals on Wednesday morning. The two winners will face off in the 18 hole finale Wednesday afternoon on the Estate course at PGA National.

Qualifying/Seeding Round Complete...Match Play begins Tuesday morning
69 (-2) was a six for three playoff to make it to match play


WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - Fifty players teed it up Monday morning in search of a birth into the sixteen player match play bracket. Piri Borja from Coral Springs, FL grabbed the #1 seed with a 6-under par 65. Thirteen players made it clean with rounds of 68 or better which left a six for three playoff at 69 for the final three spots. Josh Goldenberg and Jamie Sindelar advanced with birdies at the first playoff hole followed by Eric Dietrich with a birdie at the second.

The round of sixteen matches are set for Tuesday morning followed by the quarterfinals Tuesday afternoon. The semifinal will take place Wednesday morning and the final Wednseday afternoon. The winner will take home the $2,500 first place prize. Everyone who made match play is guaranteed at least $500.

2019 Joey D Golf Match Play Championship

Monday's 18 hole Seeding Round will determine the 16 players & alternates that qualify for Match Play. Joey D Golf is adding $1,000 to the purse!

Event Details

Start: 10/28/2019
Rounds: 3

Players: 50
Entry: $380
Purse: $15300

Event Photos
Round of 16 and Quarterfinals
Semifinals and Final

2 & 1 - Eric Cole - $2,500

PGA National - Estates
7736 Bay Hill Drive
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 627-1614

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
Final*Eric Cole 1 $2,500.00
Final*Blake Morris 2 $1,800.00
Semifinal*Eric Beringer T3 $1,500.00
Semifinal*Piri BorjaT3 $1,500.00
Quarterfinal*Brad AdamonisT5 $1,000.00
Quarterfinal*David SandersT5 $1,000.00
Quarterfinal*Justin Bryant T5 $1,000.00
Quarterfinal*Michael GraboyesT5 $1,000.00
Round of 16*Patrick Langdon T9 $500.00
Round of 16*Josh GoldenbergT9 $500.00
Round of 16*Jamie Sindelar T9 $500.00
Round of 16*Phillip YribarrenT9 $500.00
Round of 16*Jacob EggersT9 $500.00
Round of 16*Justin PetersT9 $500.00
Round of 16*Chris WiatrT9 $500.00
Round of 16*Eric Dietrich T9 $500.00
69 JD Carrabino $0.00
69 Kenny Hess $0.00
69 Etienne Brault $0.00
70 Mackenzie Nelson $0.00
70 Zach Weaver $0.00
71 Luke Graboyes $0.00
71 Ben Cook $0.00
71 Dan McCarthy $0.00
71 Nick Sorkin $0.00
71 Matthew Naumec $0.00
72 Jeff Swegle $0.00
72 Jake Daly $0.00
72 Marc Mazza $0.00
72 Mike Miller $0.00
73 Evan Thornton $0.00
73 Matthew Hirsh $0.00
73 James Driscoll $0.00
73 Hugo Bernard $0.00
73 Brant Peaper $0.00
73 Kris Wilcoxon $0.00
73 Jesus Rivas Garcia $0.00
74 Alex Andrews $0.00
74 Peter French $0.00
74 Zach Zaback $0.00
76 Ryan Celano $0.00
76 Collin Neeman $0.00
77 Jay Jay Howard $0.00
78 Paul Park $0.00
78 Matt Lashinger $0.00
78 Mitchell Ellis $0.00
79 Jalen Ledger $0.00
79 Jake Weilheimer (a) $0.00
82 Nathan Bull $0.00
NC*Aaron Wilson $0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved