Brandon Smith birdies 3 in a row to get in playoff with Brett Stegmaier
Smith birdied first extra hole to capture victory
Saturday, July 28, 2012

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Brandon Smith of West Palm Beach birdied the last three holes of regulation and the first playoff hole to win a Tour event Friday at Ironhorse.

Smith outlasted Brett Stegmaier of Vero Beach after they tied at eight under par 136. While Smith was finishing with three consecutive birdies, Stegmaier bogeyed the 16th and 17th holes to drop into the tie at the top.

In regulation, Smith scored a pair of 68s with six birdies Thursday and four Friday. Stegmaier shot 66-70 with 12 birdies and four bogeys in 36 holes. In the playoff, Smith won with a three footer moments after Stegmaieer missed his birdie putt from 10 feet.

Sunny Kim shot 4-under par 68 to finish 3rd and take a one shot lead in the 6th $1,000 Bonus Contest of 2012 at the halfway point.  There are 3 rounds remaining next week.

The Golfslinger’s 68th tournament had 30 starters and a purse of $9,750. Smith received $2,000, Stegmaier $1,300.

There was $100 in the Day 2 skins pot with 6 skins out worth 16.67 each

4- Horacio Leon
7.13- Sunny Kim
8- Matt Springer
12- Soo "Eric" Ahn
15- Devin Kay

There was $130 in the Day 1 skins pot with 4 skins out worth $32.50 each

6,15- Sunny Kim
8- Will Coleman
10- Brandon Smith

Event Details

Start: 7/26/2012
Rounds: 2

Players: 30
Entry: $440
Purse: $9750.02

Event Photos

136 - Brandon Smith (68-68) - $2,000* birdied final three holes

8055 Ironhorse Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 624-5551

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
136 (68-68)Brandon Smith (a)1$2,000.00
136 (66-70)Brett Stegmaier2$1,300.00
137 (69-68)Sunny Kim3$1,100.00
138 (70-68)Derrick BohannonT4$957.50
138 (71-67)Devin KayT4$957.50
139 (70-69)David M. SmithT6$633.34
139 (70-69)Matt SpringerT6$633.34
139 (73-66)Jimmy LytleT6$633.34
140 (69-71)Tim Turpen9$400.00
141 (70-71)Will Coleman10$300.00
142 (71-71)Horacio LeonT11$185.00
142 (72-70)Willy PumarolT11$185.00
143 (71-72)Matthew Broome (a)T13$157.50
143 (72-71)Soo "Eric" AhnT13$157.50
144 (71-73)Jeff Ivall15$150.00
145 (70-75)Danny Germaine16$0.00
146 (72-74)Scott MarinoT17$0.00
146 (75-71)Dustin WallisT17$0.00
147 (73-74)Charlie Sault19$0.00
148 (72-76)Peter Laws20$0.00
149 (71-78)Alejandro GarmendiaT21$0.00
149 (74-75)Greg DuncanT21$0.00
149 (76-73)Tyler KitsonT21$0.00
154 (79-75)Kris Wilcoxon24$0.00
156 (84-72)Geoff Lee25$0.00
157 (83-74)Wayne De Haas26$0.00
161 (80-81)Mark MaundrellT27$0.00
161 (84-77)Alex YostT27$0.00
175 (84-91)Gus Abbruzzese 29$0.00
81-WDMarc Mazza30$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved