Derrick Bohannon birdies 2nd extra hole to outlast Gabe Costa
Both players shot 5-under par 67, Justin Dorward finished third with 68
Monday, January 28, 2013

PALM CITY, Fla. – Derrick Bohannon of Shelbyville, Ky., won his 23rd Tour title Monday, beating Gabe Costa of Tequesta on the second playoff hole at Hammock Creek Golf Club after they tied at five under par 67.

After both made par-4s on the first extra hole, Bohannon sank an 18-foot birdie putt at the par-5 second after escaping from a greenside bunker. Moments later, Costa missed his birdie putt from 12 feet. In regulation, Bohannon made an eagle and five birdies while Costa had seven birdies. Each had two bogeys.

Bohannon received $1,000 from the $5,053 purse, raising his Golfslinger career earnings to $93,488 since May, 2006. Costa, second of 41 entries, received $575. He has one Golfslinger victory, winning in his event as a professional after shooting 65 on the Squire course at PGA National in Palm Beach Gardens on August 23, 2011.

Justin Doward, playing in his first GOLFslinger Tour event shot 68 to finish solo third. Justin, of Port St. Lucie, graduated in 2012 from University of Louisville, where he had 12 top 10 finshes in his collegiate golf career.

This was the Golfslinger’s 10th tournament of the month. Next on the schedule is a 36-hole event Thursday and Friday at the Champions Club at Summerfield in Stuart.

There was $200 in the skins pot with 4 skins out worth $50 each.
1- Justin Dorward
6- Matt Dunn
7- Eric Lilleboe
14- Matt Springer

Event Details

Start: 1/28/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 41
Entry: $200
Purse: $5053

Event Photos
Video Link

67 - Derrick Bohannon - $1,000* birdied second playoff hole

Hammock Creek Golf Club
2400 SW Golden Bear Way
Palm City, FL  34990

(772) 220-2599

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
67Derrick Bohannon1 $1,000.00
67Gabe Costa 2 $575.00
68Justin Dorward3$500.00
69Jimmy HazenT4$387.50
69Ryan ArmourT4$387.50
70Jimmy LytleT6$235.00
70Greg EtimosT6$235.00
70Jeff HattenT6$235.00
70Lambert Cochet (a)T6$235.00
71Patrick PelletierT10$149.00
71Olin Browne Jr.T10$149.00
71Josh HartT10$149.00
71Chase CarrollT10$149.00
71Jon McLeanT10$149.00
72Stephen GrantT15$77.00
72Sandro Piaget T15$77.00
72Mark PurringtonT15$77.00
72Collin NeemanT15$77.00
73Tarik CanT19$70.00
73Mitchell GregsonT19$70.00
73Carl McCauleyT19$70.00
74Matt SpringerT22$0.00
74Tim BuczakT22$0.00
74Diego TamayoT22$0.00
75Will ColemanT25$0.00
75Michael MidgetteT25$0.00
76Justin BartlettT27$0.00
76Brad TilleyT27$0.00
76Jonathan OrchinT27$0.00
76Stevenson Clarke (a)T27$0.00
76Greg DuncanT27$0.00
77Vince Molesky32 $0.00
78Matt MajkaT33$0.00
78David GourlieT33$0.00
80Jeff MannT35$0.00
80Eric LilleboeT35$0.00
82Keegan Tyers 37$0.00
84Nicholas McNiesh38$0.00
85Matt Dunn 39$0.00
86Frank McAuliffe IV40$0.00
88Stevie Anderson41$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved