Dan McCarthy wins 4 Player 3 hole playoff for $10,000
McCarthy tied with 1st round leader Greg Etimos, Ryan Armour and Eric Cole
Tuesday, April 23, 2013

JUPITER, Fla. – Dan McCarthy of Syracuse, N.Y., won a playoff with 2 birdies, then a par-4 on the third extra hole Wednesday at Abacoa Golf Club to win for the ninth time on the Golfslinger.com Tour. McCarthy collected $10,000 from the $31,781 purse, raising his career earnings to $41,185 since he first played on the Golfslinger Tour in October, 2007.

Playing in Golfslinger’s second “major” of the season, McCarthy, 27, outlasted Ryan Armour of Jupiter, Eric Cole of Orlando and Greg Etimos of East Islip, N.Y., after they tied at seven under par 137. Etimos was the first round leader with 66. The other three matched rounds of 69-68.

In the playoff, all four birdied the par-5 10th hole, then Armour and Etimos were eliminated at the drive-able par-4 11th when Eric Cole and Dan McCarthy made birdies. Cole's eagle chip (with the flag out) hit the back of the hole solidly, ending up a few inches from the cup. McCarthy's 18 foot eagle putt finished just to the left of the hole. At the par-4 12th, Cole hit a tree off the tee and had to punch out to the fairway, resulting in a bogey 5. After a middle of the fairway drive and solid approch shot to 8 feet, McCarthy then two-putted for the win and $10,000 winners share.

In regulation, McCarthy had three birdies Monday, five birdies and a bogey Tuesday.

There was $280 in the Day 2 skins pot with 5 skins out worth $56 each.
2- Joe Frustaci(Eagle)  5- Stephen Grant  9- Josh Hart  12- Mark Baldwin  15- Derrick Bohannon

Windy opening round ends with Greg Etimos on top at 6-under par 66
Only 16 of 61 players are under par

JUPITER, Fla. - 16 out of 61 players are under par after the opening round of the second GOLFslinger.com Tour Major of 2013. Greg Etimos blistered Abacoa with a 6-under par 66 in extreemly windy conditions, followed by Andrew Pressentin and Jeff Hatton at 4-under par 68.  Five players are tied for fourth at 3-under par 69.  The winner will take home $10,000!

There was $290 in the Day 1 skins pot with 4 skins out worth $72.50 each.
8- Greg Etimos, Andrew Pressentin
10- Stephen Grant, Matt Springer (Eagles)

Scores 72 and up are Eligible for the Second Day Shootout. Entry $20: 1st 70% 2nd 30% of money collected (45 eligible players)

2013 Major 2

If you have qualified during the Major Ranking Period you pay $590, otherwise you pay $690. Read the front page of website for all details. $10k to Winner

Event Details

Start: 4/23/2013
Rounds: 2

Players: 61
Entry: $590
Purse: $31781.05

Event Photos

137 - Dan McCarthy (69-68) - $10,000* won 4 player playoff

Abacoa Golf Club
105 Barbados Drive
Jupiter, FL  33458

(561) 622-0036

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
137 (69-68)Dan McCarthy1$10,000.00
137 (66-71)Greg EtimosT2$2,516.67
137 (69-68)Eric ColeT2$2,516.67
137 (69-68)Ryan ArmourT2$2,516.67
138 (68-70)Andrew Pressentin5$1,320.00
139 (71-68)Scott Hawley6$1,200.00
140 (68-72)Jeff Hatten7$1,125.00
141 (70-71)Stephen GrantT8$1,025.00
141 (71-70)Matt DubrowskiT8$1,025.00
141 (72-69)Chris ParraT8$1,025.00
142 (74-68)Devin Kay11$900.00
143 (69-74)Yohann BensonT12$693.75
143 (71-72)Mark BaldwinT12$693.75
143 (71-72)Chris DamianoT12$693.75
143 (74-69)Derrick BohannonT12$693.75
144 (73-71)Ben VertzT16$550.00
144 (75-69)Sal SpalloneT16$550.00
145 (69-76)Josh HartT18$242.50
145 (71-74)Drew DeimelT18$242.50
145 (71-74)Nick MartinT18$242.50
145 (72-73)Carlos Sainz JrT18$242.50
145 (76-69)Chris ScialoT18 $242.50
145 (76-69)Brad AdamonisT18$242.50
146 (72-74)Tim TurpenT24$163.84
146 (72-76)Jesse LarsonT24$163.84
146 (73-73)Kenny LeechT24$163.84
146 (73-73)Bobby BodeT24$163.84
146 (75-71)Whit StaplesT24$163.84
146 (77-69)Greg O'MahonyT24$163.84
147 (70-77)Pascal SchmalenT30$59.60
147 (73-74)Matt SpringerT30$59.60
147 (73-74)David M. SmithT30$59.60
147 (74-73)Kyle O'NeillT30$59.60
147 (77-70)Brian BartowT30$59.60
148 (72-76)Will ColemanT35$0.00
148 (73-75)Michael Kartrude T35$0.00
148 (75-73)Gabe Costa T35$0.00
149 (72-77)Evan BeirneT38$0.00
149 (74-75)Thomas BuranT38$0.00
149 (74-75)Greg DuncanT38$0.00
149 (76-73)Casey CalmiT38$0.00
150 (72-78)Louis-Pierre GodinT42$0.00
150 (75-75)Dustin WallisT42$0.00
150 (77-73)Jeff IvallT42$0.00
151 (73-78)Christian De GreiffT45$0.00
151 (78-73)Christian WesthorpeT45$0.00
151 (80-71)Joe FrustaciT45$0.00
151 (81-70)Billy HouleT45$0.00
152 (76-76)Michael MidgetteT49 $0.00
152 (79-73)Andrew GiulianiT49$0.00
153 (78-75)Chad BouchardT51$0.00
153 (79-74)Ron Bonatz IIIT51$0.00
154 (75-79)Justin Bryant T53$0.00
154 (80-74)Chad GatesT53 $0.00
156 (83-73)David Guy55$0.00
157 (79-78)William Pugliese56$0.00
158 (80-78)David Kalpak57$0.00
159 (81-78)Michael Capolongo58$0.00
165 (82-83)Jason Trout 59$0.00
172 (84-88)Mustapha Assorhani60$0.00
80-WDMike Meisenzahl61$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved