Brandon Smith birdies 2 of 3 playoff holes to outlast Ryan Armour
Justin Peters shot 67 to finish one shot back
Wednesday, June 5, 2013

JUPITER, Fla. – Brandon Smith of West Palm Beach birdied the third extra hole Wednesday to earn his 16th win on the Tour. Smith outlasted Ryan Armour of Jupiter after they tied at six under par 66 at Abacoa Golf Club.

In the playoff, they halved the first hole with par-4s after Smith got up and down from the front bunker. The also halved the second with birdie-4s after Armour's eagle putt came up about 1 inch short. At the par-4 third, Smith sank an six footer for the win moments after Armour had missed his 8 foot birdie opportunity. In regulation, each made seven birdies and a bogey and both birdied the par-5 17th.

Smith received $800 from the $3,996 purse, raising his career earnings to $58,014. An insurance office manager, Smith started playing on the Golfslinger Tour as an amateur in October, 2005, winning twice before turning pro at the start of the 2010 season. Before that, he won twice in Palm Beach County Golf Association events, the Junior-Senior with Dann Merrell in 2005 at Abacoa and the 2009 Stroke Play at Banyan.

Armour, second among 27 starters in the 57th tournament of the year, collected $650.

Golfslinger plays again Thursday on Fountains CC’s South course, west of Lake Worth.

There was $140 in the skins pot with 7 skins out worth $20 each.

1,10 (Eagle)- Justin Peters
2- Sal Spallone (Eagle)
8- Ryan Armour
12- Greg O'Mahony
14- Eric Cole
16- Nate Eaton

June Abacoa Classic

40% Payout. Sponsored by Jerry's Barber Shop in Jupiter. Click Event Title for Coupon

Event Details

Start: 6/5/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 27
Entry: $200
Purse: $3996.01

Event Photos

66 - Brandon Smith - $800 *birdied 2 of 3 playoff holes

Abacoa Golf Club
105 Barbados Drive
Jupiter, FL  33458

(561) 622-0036

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
66Brandon Smith (a)1$800.00
66Ryan Armour2$650.00
67Justin Peters3 $575.00
68Zach AmoleT4$416.67
68Greg O'MahonyT4$416.67
68Eric ColeT4$416.67
70Mike Meisenzahl7$250.00
71Dustin Wallis8$165.00
72Sal SpalloneT9$51.00
72Chris DamianoT9$51.00
72Marc MazzaT9$51.00
72Scott MarinoT9$51.00
72Tim CantwellT9$51.00
72Thomas BrewerT9$51.00
73Whit Staples15$0.00
74David Guy16$0.00
75Josh Camitta17$0.00
76Carl McCauley18$0.00
77Jeff HattenT19$0.00
77James Tait (a)T19$0.00
79Matt DodsonT21$0.00
79Jordan Elsen (a)T21$0.00
79Nate EatonT21$0.00
80Corey Henry24$0.00
82Jason Trout 25$0.00
85Kyle O'Neill26$0.00
90Stephen Spinale27$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved