Eric Cole edges Marc Turnesa 65-66 to win The Breakers August Classic
Both players shot -1 under par on the front nine
Friday, August 30, 2013

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Eric Cole of Orlando rallied past Marc Turnesa of Rockville Centre, N.Y., for a one-stroke victory Thursday in a Tour event at Breakers Rees Jones.

Cole edged Turnesa 65-66 with an eagle at the par-5 10th hole and three birdies on the next four holes, then a final birdie at the 18th. Earlier in the day, Turnesa made six birdies on the back nine, four in a row, but bogeyed the 18th.

It was Cole’s 13th Golfslinger victory since August, 2009. He received $800 from the $3,700 purse, raising his career earnings to $33,354. Turnesa, who beat Matt Kucher by one shot to win the 2008 PGA TOUR Shriners Hospital Open, has made only five starts on the Golfslinger Tour, two this summer, three in 2006 when he won once. Second among 25 starters here, he collected $600.

Golfslinger’s 12th tournament of the month and 82nd this year drew 25 starters. Scott Turner of Palm City, who won the last three tournaments, withdrew Thursday before play started.

Two tournaments are scheduled next week, Tuesday at Indian Spring CC-East and Thursday at Fountains CC-West.

There was $120 in the skins pot with 6 skins out worth $20 each.

4- Brett McCurdy, Jr
6,8- Greg O'Mahony
10- Eric Cole (Eagle)
13,17- Marc Turnesa

Event Details

Start: 8/29/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 25
Entry: $200
Purse: $3700

Event Photos

65 - Eric Cole - $800

Breakers Rees Jones
1550 Flagler Parkway
West Palm Beach, FL  33411

(561) 653-6320

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
65Eric Cole1 $800.00
66Marc Turnesa2$600.00
68Greg O'Mahony3$550.00
69Tim CantwellT4$462.50
69Felipe VelazquezT4$462.50
71Olin Browne Jr.T6$187.50
71Federico CelanoT6$187.50
71Brett McCurdy JrT6$187.50
71Justin Bryant T6$187.50
72Carl McCauleyT10$25.00
72Ryan ArmourT10$25.00
72Jordan HolleyT10$25.00
73Jimmy LytleT13$0.00
73Matt HiltonT13$0.00
73Matt HancockT13$0.00
74Matthew CeravoloT16$0.00
74Jeff IvallT16$0.00
77Geoff LeeT18$0.00
77Brandon Smith (a)T18$0.00
80Jason Trout 20$0.00
84Rio MilordT21$0.00
85Zach Lents23$0.00
NCOscar ZapataT24$0.00
NCJeff WattlesT24$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved