James Vargas wins Playoff over Carl McCauley and Seth Blann
All three shot 2-under par 70 in regulation
Monday, December 16, 2013

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – James Vargas of Miami, making his first start on the Golfslinger.com Tour, was the winner Monday on the second playoff hole at the TPC Eagle Trace.

Vargas, a former top junior golfer and University of Florida player, won with par-4 on the second extra hole after he tied at two under par 70 with Carl McCauley of Parkland and Seth Blann of Bowling Green, Ky.

In regulation, Vargas made two birdies and a bogey on each nine. McCauley also had four birdies and two bogeys. Blann scored three birdies and a bogey on the front and parred the back nine.

Vargas received $1,000 from the $5,735 purse. McCauley and Blann tied for second among 37 players, collecting $662.50 apiece. McCauley has played the Golfslinger Tour regularly the last two years, earning $12,842 and winning once. It was Blann’s fourth start and first check.

Golfslinger winds down its 10th season with two more 18-hole events this week, Tuesday at Ironhorse CC, West Palm Beach, and the Team Championship on Thursday at Martin Downs CC, Palm City. The 2014 season opens Jan. 7 at Abacoa GC, Jupiter.

There was $180 in the skins pot with 5 skins out worth $36 each

4- Randolph Schafer
6- Clint Keown
12- Cory Stelick
14- Oscar Zapata
16- Sam Kent

Event Details

Start: 12/16/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 37
Entry: $225
Purse: $5735.02

Event Photos

70 - James Vargas - $1,000* won on second playoff hole

Eagle Trace Golf Club
1111 Eagle Trace Blvd
Coral Springs, FL  33071

(954) 753-7222

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
70James Vargas1$1,000.00
70Carl McCauleyT2$662.50
70Seth BlannT2$662.50
71Daniel Obremski4$575.00
72Nathan DavisT5$458.34
72Piri BorjaT5$458.34
72Francois ReverberiT5$458.34
73Brad AdamonisT8$305.00
73Jimmy LytleT8$305.00
74Gregg BlaineyT10$200.00
74Ben VertzT10$200.00
75Tarik Can12 $150.00
76Keegan Tyers T13$112.50
76Eric Fitzsimmons T13$112.50
77Cory StelickT15$18.75
77Pascal SchmalenT15$18.75
77Andy GoldenT15$18.75
77Wayne De HaasT15$18.75
78Zack Bennardo $0.00
78Jason Toelle $0.00
79Nicolo Ragazzi $0.00
79Trevor Sahn $0.00
80Brody Davis $0.00
81John Gerber $0.00
82Andres Pumariega $0.00
82Livan Hernandez (a) $0.00
82Joe Shaktman (a) $0.00
82Eric Beringer $0.00
83Clint Keown (a) $0.00
84Joshua Galt $0.00
85Nick Marcoaldi $0.00
85Oscar Zapata $0.00
89Nate Eaton $0.00
90Sam Kent (a) $0.00
93Ryan Miller $0.00
NCJulien Taylor $0.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved