Alejandro Garmendia finishes strong to win by 3
Smith, Jacobs, and Capozzoli all tie for 2nd after 4-under par 67's
Wednesday, July 22, 2015

PALM CITY, Fla. – Alejandro Garmendia of Weston made two birdies and an eagle on the last four holes Wednesday as he pulled away for his ninth win on the Minor League Golf Tour. After five birdies and two bogeys on the first 14 holes, Garmendia, 22, finished birdie-birdie-eagle-par for a seven under par 64 to win by three shots on the Osprey Creek course at Martin Downs Country Club.

It was Garmendia’s second victory in 10 days. He posted an eight under 64 July 13 on the East course at Indian Spring CC to win by eight. He received $550 from the $2,575 purse here, raising his career earnings to $22,561.82 since August, 2010.

Brandon Smith from West Palm Beach, FL, Mason Jacobs from Metropolis, IL, and Nicholas Capozzoli from Cincinnati, OH all tied for 2nd after 4-under par 67's. They earned $358.34 each.

The MLGT’s 65th tournament of the year drew 22 starters. The tour plays a 54-hole event next week at Hollybrook Golf & Tennis Club in Pembroke Pines with a separate, optional 18-hole tourney July 31 for players who miss the 36-hole cut or who can’t play three days in a row.

Martin Downs Shootout

50% Payout. 6802 Yards. Par 72 *Former 1st stage site of Q-school

Event Details

Start: 7/22/2015
Rounds: 1

Players: 22
Entry: $170
Purse: $2575.02

Event Photos

64 - Alejandro Garmendia - $550

Martin Downs Osprey Creek
3801 SW Greenwood Way
Palm City, FL  34990

(772) 286-6818

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
64Alejandro Garmendia 1 $550.00
67Brandon Smith (a) T2 $358.34
67Mason Jacobs T2 $358.34
67Nicholas Capozzoli (a) T2 $358.34
68Matt Springer T5 $200.00
68Wayne De Haas T5 $200.00
68Matthew Ceravolo T5 $200.00
69Carl McCauley T8 $112.50
69Josh Hart T8 $112.50
70Alvin Okada 10 $75.00
71Greg Duncan11 $50.00
72David M. Smith $0.00
72Jeremy Walsh $0.00
73Cory Stelick $0.00
74Jason Trout $0.00
74Way Ismail $0.00
75Geoff Lee $0.00
76Anthony Infante $0.00
76Philipp Muller $0.00
77Sam Boyd $0.00
78T.J. Patel $0.00
NCRyan Miller $0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved