Mason Jacobs survives a marathon playoff over Carl McCauley
Sunny Kim finishes 3rd with 67 followed by Springer and Elsen tied for 4th at 69
Tuesday, June 2, 2015

LAKE WORTH, Fla. – Mason Jacobs of Metropolis, Ill., making just his third start on the Minor League Golf Tour, won the circuit’s longest playoff by outlasting MLGT veteran Carl McCauley of Parkland on the 10th extra hole Tuesday at Winston Trails Golf Club.

After they matched seven under par 65's in regulation, each with eight birdies and a bogey, they halved the entire back nine with six pars, bogeys at the par-3 12th hole and birdies at the 13th and 15th, both par-5's.

Going back to the par-3 17th, Jacobs two-putted from 15 feet for the win, sinking a clinching three footer after McCauley missed his par putt from 12 feet. McCauley had missing the green off the tee and chipped on but was unable to save par.

The previous MLGT playoff record was nine holes, set May 9, 2005, on the Estate course at PGA National in Palm Beach Gardens by Jason Powell and Jonathan Bartlett. With darkness preventing further play, they were declared co-champions.

This was tournament No. 1,252 for the MLGT, which started in August, 2004, the 53rd this year. Jacobs had cashed one check for $125 on Feb. 27 and finished out of the money in a 36-hole event last week. He received $540 from the $2,420 purse.

McCauley has played regularly on the MLGT since May, 2012, winning 10 times, once at Winston Trails in June, 2014. He has career earnings of $46,345.79, including $400 Tuesday.

There were 22 starters. Next on the schedule: Thursday, Abacoa GC, Jupiter, and Monday at West Palm Beach Municipal GC.

Winston Trails Summer Classic

50% Payout. 7084 Yards. Par 72

Event Details

Start: 6/2/2015
Rounds: 1

Players: 22
Entry: $160
Purse: $2420

Event Photos

65 - Mason Jacobs - $540 *Won on 10th playoff hole

Winston Trails Golf Club
6101 Winston Trails Blvd
Lake Worth, FL  33463

(561) 439-3700

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
65Mason Jacobs 1 $540.00
65Carl McCauley 2 $400.00
67Sunny Kim 3 $340.00
69Matt Springer T4 $260.00
69Jordan Elsen T4 $260.00
70Dean O'Riley 6 $200.00
71Alvin Okada 7 $150.00
72Greg DuncanT8 $90.00
72T.J. Patel T8 $90.00
73Ben Brady T10 $45.00
73Jimmy Lytle T10 $45.00
74Gus Abbruzzese $0.00
74Wayne De Haas $0.00
76Kristian Perry (a) $0.00
76Austin Parker $0.00
79Brian Glass $0.00
79Christopher Schoen (a) $0.00
79Javier Prensa (a) $0.00
80Alexander Bastidas $0.00
80Anthony Infante $0.00
80Ryan Miller $0.00
97Michael Braun $0.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved