Michael McGowan birdies first playoff hole to outlast Justin Hicks
McGowan and Hicks tied in regulation at 6-under par 65
Tuesday, January 17, 2017

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – Michael McGowan of Southern Pines, NC, making just his seventh start on the Minor League Golf Tour, was a winner for the first time in a playoff Tuesday at the Country Club of Coral Springs.

McGowan outlasted veteran touring pro Justin Hicks of Grosse Ile, Mich., with a birdie on the first extra hole after they tied at six under par 65. McGowan sank an eight footer at the par-4 10th hole moments after Hicks missed his birdie try from 18 feet.

In regulation, each made seven birdies and a bogey. McGowan earned $950, Hicks $620, from the $5,500 purse. Each received an additional $206 from an optional bonus pool. Hicks has won twice on the Web.com Tour and has totaled 24 MLGT wins since March, 2005.

The MLGT's sixth tournament of its 14th season drew 43 starters.

Bo Hoag eagle 2

Bo Hoag started his day with an eagle 2 on the 446 yard par-4 10th hole.

A big thank you to Country Club of Coral Springs for hosting this one day event 2 weeks prior to Major I so the players could see it in competition. CC of Coral Springs closed in May 2015 to re do the entire golf course. They re-opened in 2016 and the result is spectacular. The MLGT is looking forward to a great Major at CC of Coral Springs on February 2-3. With a full field of 78 players, 1st place will be $10,000

The Minor League Golf Tour's first WEB.com Q-School Contest of 2017 starts in 6 days. The contest is comprised of back to back 2-day events. The first half will be held at PGA National Estates Course on 1/23-24 and the second half will be held at Martin Downs Country Club on 1/25-26. The Minor League Golf Tour is guaranteeing a full paid entry into 2017 Web.com Q-school for the low 4-day score of those players entered in the contest. If more than 25 players participate in the contest, the extra money will go towards the 2nd place finisher's (in the contest) 2017 Web.com Q-school entry. The first 2-day event entry is $420, the 2nd 2-day entry fee is $390, and the Web.com Q-School contest entry fee is $200. Both of the 2-day events will have prize pools and optional skins games and optional bonus pools. Please call Tournament Director Scott Turner at 561.598.9630 with any questions.

Coral Springs Major I Tune Up

50% of the field earns a check. Start on #10. Coral Springs needs a final player count Sunday so if you want to play sign up asap. We have to give back unused tee times on Sunday so don't wait. Come play the course that is hosting Major I on February 2-3

Event Details

Start: 1/17/2017
Rounds: 1

Players: 43
Entry: $190
Purse: $5500

Event Photos

65 - Michael McGowan - $950 *Birdied first playoff hole

Country Club of Coral Springs
10800 West Sample Road
Coral Springs, FL  33065

(954) 752-4500

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
65 Michael McGowan 1 $950.00$1,156.00
65 Justin Hicks 2 $620.00$826.00
66 Brant Peaper T3 $450.00$590.00
66 Zach Zaback T3 $450.00$450.00
67 Hunter O'Mahony5 $370.00$466.00
68 Jacob EggersT6 $325.00$325.00
68 Rasmey KongT6 $325.00$325.00
69 Bo HoagT8 $228.00$241.25
69 Jamie SindelarT8 $228.00$241.25
69 Eric ColeT8 $228.00$241.25
69 Jon McLeanT8 $228.00$228.00
69 Corey HenryT8 $228.00$701.25
70 Matt Hill T13 $122.50$122.50
70 Collin NeemanT13 $122.50$122.50
70 Jimmy LytleT13 $122.50$122.50
70 Tommy HurstT13 $122.50$122.50
71 Dane CianelliT17 $68.75$68.75
71 Seth SweetT17 $68.75$68.75
71 Tim CareyT17 $68.75$68.75
71 Logan GrayT17 $68.75$68.75
72 Brad AdamonisT21 $52.50$52.50
72 Matt GallantT21 $52.50$52.50
73 Jean-Philip Cornellier $0.00$0.00
74 Max Buckley $0.00$0.00
74 Nathan Davis $0.00$0.00
74 Felipe Torres $0.00$0.00
75 David Schultz $0.00$0.00
75 Brendan Lemp $0.00$0.00
76 Rohan Ramnath $0.00$0.00
78 Sean Busch $0.00$0.00
78 Kyle Siegel $0.00$0.00
78 Matt Jankowski (a) $0.00$0.00
79 Christofer Jusslin $0.00$0.00
82 Juan Diego Devia $0.00$0.00
82 Lucas Nonni $0.00$0.00
82 Ross Ketner (a) $0.00$0.00
82 Taylor Kay-Green $0.00$0.00
83 Patrick Grimes $0.00$0.00
84 Michael Wolf $0.00$0.00
DNFAndrew Park $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved