Piri Borja wins on the first playoff hole after tying Blake Morris at 67
Eric Beringer wins Monday Qualifier Contest #4 and the $1,000 bonus
Thursday, May 30, 2019

LAKE WORTH, Fla. – Piri Borja of Coral Springs, FL has won a playoff for the second time in three days on the Minor League Golf Tour. Borja two-putted from 20 feet for par-4 on the first extra hole Thursday to edge Blake Morris of Waterbury, CT, after they tied at four under par 67 on the West course at Fountains Country Club. On Tuesday, Borja birdied the third playoff hole to beat Evan Thornton of Wyomissing, PA. They had also tied at 67, five under at Abacoa Golf Club in Jupiter.

At Fountains-West, Borja parred the last seven holes of regulation after scoring birdies on five of the first 10 holes and a bogey at the par-5 11th. He received $650 from the $3,000 purse and an additional $191 from an optional bonus pool. It was his seventh win since joining the MLGT in June, 2007.

Morris birdied five of seven holes midway through his round but bogeyed the par-4 18th hole to be denied his fifth MLGT win. He collected $500 from the main purse and $191 from the bonus pool.

Eric Beringer of Philadelphia, PA, had the lowest 54-hole score of the week, 12 under par 203, without winning. He earned $1,000 toward a Monday Qualifier of his choice on the PGA or Web.com Tour. He shot 69 at Abacoa, 66 Wednesday at The Florida Club and 68 at Fountains-West.

Monday Q Contest #4

A big thank you to Abacoa Golf Club for sponsoring the Monday Q Contest.

Fountians West May Open

50% of the field earns a check.

Event Details

Start: 5/30/2019
Rounds: 1

Players: 25
Entry: $170
Purse: $3000.01

Event Photos

67 - Piri Borja - $650 *Won on First Playoff Hole

Fountains Country Club - West Course
4615 Fountains Drive
Lake Worth, FL  33467

(561) 642-2700

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
67 Piri Borja 1 $650.00$841.00
67 Blake Morris 2 $500.00$691.00
68 Eric Beringer T3 $336.67$370.67
68 Eric ColeT3 $336.67$470.67
68 Sebastian Saavedra T3 $336.67$336.67
69 Christopher Brown T6 $185.00$285.00
69 Ben Follett-Smith T6 $185.00$185.00
70 Ricky Casko T8 $122.50$122.50
70 Nick LatimerT8 $122.50$122.50
71 Chad Bricker T10 $56.25$56.25
71 Kris Wilcoxon T10 $56.25$56.25
71 Rasmey Kong T10 $56.25$56.25
71 Evan Thornton T10 $56.25$56.25
72 Chris Wiatr $0.00$0.00
72 Davey Jude $0.00$0.00
73 Mark Foster $0.00$0.00
73 Johnathan Milner $0.00$0.00
74 Patrick Langdon $0.00$0.00
75 Ryan Celano $0.00$0.00
76 Philip Ritchie $0.00$0.00
76 Tyler Cline $0.00$100.00
77 Anthony Russo $0.00$0.00
80 Jamie Freedman (a) $0.00$0.00
84 Austin Carr $0.00$0.00
97 Mustapha Assorhani $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved