Eric Beringer wins a playoff over Stephen P Grant on a difficult day on the Champ
Will Rosenfield and Collin Neeman tied for 3rd at 73
Monday, September 30, 2019

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. – The Champion course at PGA National proved to be a bear Monday as no one broke par on the demanding par 70 golf course.

The site of the PGA Tour’s Honda Classic each spring since 2007 as well as the Ryder Cup in 1983 and the 1987 PGA Championship, the Champion was unyielding in the wind with scores of two over par 72 leading to a playoff.

The winner was Eric Beringer of Philadelphia, who sank a 10-foot putt for par-4 on the second extra hole to beat out Stephen P Grant of Plantation, FL, who had a tap in for double bogey. They halved the first extra hole with par-4's.

Coincidentally, they were paired together in the second threesome off the tee at 10:08am. Beringer finished with birdie at the par-5 18th, Grant on a bogey.

It was Beringer’s 5th win since he joined the MLGT in February, 2008. He had four bogeys on the front nine, two birdies on the back and collected $800 from the $3,820 purse plus $183 from an optional bonus pool and $170 in skins for total of $1,153.

Grant, second among 28 starters, received $600 from the purse. His card showed two birdies, two bogeys and a double bogey at the par-4 11th hole. He joined the Stuart-based mini-tour in April, 2014, and earned his only MLGT victory this past May.

This was a tune up event for Major III held on the Champion course at PGA Natonial on Mon/Tues October 21-22.

PGA Champ Major III Tune Up

50% of the field earns a check

Event Details

Start: 9/30/2019
Rounds: 1

Players: 28
Entry: $200
Purse: $3820

Event Photos

72 - Eric Beringer - $800 *Won on 2nd Playoff Hole

PGA National - Champ - Par 70
400 Ave of the Champions
Palm Beach Gardens, FL  33418

(561) 627-2000

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
72 Eric Beringer 1 $800.00$1,153.00
72 Stephen P Grant 2 $600.00$600.00
73 Collin Neeman T3 $450.00$450.00
73 Will Rosenfield T3 $450.00$567.00
75 Florian Kolberg 5 $350.00$350.00
76 Ian Facey T6 $200.00$200.00
76 Evan Thornton T6 $200.00$200.00
76 Ryan CelanoT6 $200.00$200.00
76 Tom Lovelady T6 $200.00$250.00
77 Tucker Timmons T10 $74.00$74.00
77 Ethan Marcus T10 $74.00$74.00
77 Joe Stepnes T10 $74.00$74.00
77 Alejandro GarmendiaT10 $74.00$74.00
77 Michael Werenski T10 $74.00$74.00
78 Diego Larrazabal $0.00$0.00
78 Aaron Wilson $0.00$0.00
78 Kevin Jorden $0.00$170.00
78 Eric Cole $0.00$0.00
78 Justin Peters $0.00$0.00
79 Michael McCormack $0.00$0.00
82 Jordan Reese $0.00$0.00
83 Ben Kassman $0.00$0.00
83 Sam Spector $0.00$0.00
99 Alex Garbiso $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved