Chris Wiatr ties the course record at Hammock Creek Golf Club with 61!
The course record was set by Chris Parra on the Golden Bear Tour
Tuesday, August 27, 2019

PALM CITY, Fla. – Chris Wiatr of Woodbury, CT, shot an unofficial course record tying 11 under par 61 at Hammock Creek Golf Club to win by six shots Tuesday for his second victory on the Minor League Golf Tour.

The score was considered an unofficial record because the 16 contestants were playing lift-clean-and-place due to the wet course conditions. Nevertheless, Wiatr eagled the par-5 second hole and made nine birdies, including the last three holes.

Tied Course Record

Wiatr received $650 from the $2,080 purse plus $232 from an optional bonus pool, raising his career earnings to $41,790 since January, 2016. That includes $10,000 for winning the 2018 Tour Championship last December at Abacoa GC in Jupiter. Sunny Kim of Queens, N.Y., set the MLGT scoring record in that event with an opening round of 60. Wiatr rallied with 68-64—132 to beat Kim’s 73-133 by one.

Chris Wiatr

All players that play all three one day events this week are automatically entered into Monday Qualifying Contest #7 presented by Abacoa Golf Club where the player with the lowest cumulative score for the three 1-day events will win a $1,000 bonus to compete in a Monday Qualifier on the PGA Tour or Korn Ferry Tour. Wiatr will take a big lead into the second event tomorrow at Banyan Creek.

Monday Q Contest Leaderboard

Hammock Creek Top Heavy Classic

33% of the field earns a check

Event Details

Start: 8/27/2019
Rounds: 1

Players: 16
Entry: $180
Purse: $2080

Event Photos

61 - Chris Wiatr - $650 *Tied course record

Hammock Creek Golf Club
2400 SW Golden Bear Way
Palm City, FL  34990

(772) 220-2599

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
61 Chris Wiatr 1 $650.00$882.00
67 Marc Mazza 2 $500.00$500.00
69 Zach Zaback 3 $400.00$590.00
70 Blake MorrisT4 $132.50$149.50
70 Josh Hart T4 $132.50$149.50
70 John Gerber T4 $132.50$149.50
70 Jamie Sindelar T4 $132.50$149.50
71 JD Carrabino $0.00$40.00
71 Aaron Wilson $0.00$0.00
72 Piri Borja $0.00$0.00
72 Jacob Eggers $0.00$0.00
73 Ryder Sutcliffe $0.00$80.00
73 Clancy Waugh $0.00$40.00
77 Evan Thornton $0.00$0.00
82 Matt Petrosian $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved