Aaron Purviance birdies the third playoff hole to oulast Jinho Chung at Fox Club
Purviance and Chung tied in regulation at 4-under par 68
Monday, February 17, 2020

PALM CITY, Fla. – Aaron Purviance of Winston-Salem, NC, won an overtime battle between a pair of newcomers on the Minor League Golf Tour with a birdie on the third extra hole Monday at The Fox Club.

Purviance outlasted Jinho Chung of Cerritos, CA, after they had tied at four under par 68. They halved the first two extra holes with par-5's and par-4's. At the par-4 third, Chung reached the green in two but faced a 20-foot birdie putt. Purviance wedged to within three feet and after Chung missed his long putt, Purviance sank his short one for the victory.

Click here to watch Aaron birdie the 3rd playoff hole for the win

In regulation, Purviance had five birdies and a bogey. Chung seven and three, respectively. Both birdied all four par-5 holes.

It was Purviance’s sixth MLGT start and first victory, all this month (February). Chung was making his third appearance in four days. Purviance received $700 from the $2,575 purse and an additional $33.34 in the skins game. Chung, second among 19 starters, collected $520.

Today's event was a Tune Up event for Qualifying School Contest #2 here at The Fox Club March 16-17. The winner of the Qualifying School Contest presented by Joey D Golf will win $5,000 to pay for the Q-School of their choice.

Qualifying School Contest #2 Tune Up

40% of the field earns a check. Come play an event on the course that is hosting 2020 Qualifying School Contest #2 on March 16-17.

Event Details

Start: 2/17/2020
Rounds: 1

Players: 19
Entry: $200
Purse: $2575

Event Photos

68 - Aaron Purviance - $700 *Birdied 3rd playoff hole

The Fox Club
10664 Whooping Crane Way
Palm City, FL  34990

(772) 597-2130

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
68 Aaron Purviance 1 $700.00$733.34
68 Jinho Chung 2 $520.00$520.00
70 Andrew McCain T3 $370.00$553.34
70 Nicole SakamotoT3 $370.00$370.00
71 Sunny Kim T5 $200.00$233.34
71 Anthony MuscatoT5 $200.00$200.00
72 T.J. Patel 7 $130.00$130.00
73 Jake Shuman 8 $85.00$118.34
74 Nick Branchina $0.00$0.00
74 Cian Curley $0.00$33.34
74 Josh Duangmanee (a) $0.00$0.00
75 Harrison Rhoades $0.00$0.00
75 Ryan Lacey $0.00$0.00
76 Connor Yakubov $0.00$0.00
80 Michael Hulle (a) $0.00$0.00
80 Mitchell Ellis $0.00$0.00
80 Collin Neeman $0.00$0.00
80 Daniel McGurk $0.00$33.34
80 Matthew Epstein (a) $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved