O'Mahony wins 2 in a row, Sunny Kim Grabs 5th Q-School Bonus
Tim Turpen & Sunny Kim play for all the marbles
Thursday, August 5, 2010

PLANTATION, Fla. - Greg O'Mahony of Tequesta and Sunny Kim of Palm Beach Gardens were both winners Thursday in a Minor League Golf Tour tournament at Jacaranda Golf Club.

O'Mahony fired a six under par 66 on the West course to earn his second straight MLGT victory and his fourth since turning pro last fall. He made seven birdies, four straight starting at the third hole, and had one bogey, at No. 8, earning $900 from the $4,702 purse. On Tuesday at Abacoa Golf Club in Jupiter, O'Mahony also shot 66, winning a playoff and also pocketing $900.

In the closest Q-School contest to date, Tim Turpen and Sunny Kim started the final day only $3.08 apart, with Kyle Willmann needing a win and some help to claim the prize

Kim was second among 39 starters with 67 on six birdies and a bogey at the 16th hole. He received $600 and finished atop the money list in the MLGT's fifth month-long Q-School contest of the year with $4,957.09. The MLGT will pay his entry fee into the PGA Tour's national qualifying tournament in the fall. Tim Turpen of West Palm Beach was second with $4,425.85 after shooting 71, and Kyle Willmann, who had it to 4-under par during the round, finished with 69.

Previous Q-school contest winners this year were Jon McLean, Weston, January, $10,838; Steve LeBrun, West Palm Beach, February, $5,775; Dustin Cone, Bennington, Vt., March, $3,459; and Brian Anderson, Rochester, Ill., April, $7,238. Contestants were not eligible to win more than one monthly contest

Brian Anderson, Fernando Figueroa, Ben Hartman, and Warren Jurkowitz tied for third at 4-under par 68.

There was $220 in the skins pot and three skins were out. Steve LeBrun birdied eight and Martin Vikstrom birdied #12 and eagled the fifth hole.

Event Details

Start: 8/5/2010
Rounds: 1

Players: 39
Entry: $170
Purse: $4702.06

Event Photos

66 - Greg O'Mahony - $900* back-to-back-wins

Jacaranda Golf Club - East Course
9200 West Broward Boulevard
Plantation, FL  33324

(954) 472-5836

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
66Greg O'Mahony1$900.00
67Sunny Kim2$600.00
68Warren JurkowitzT3$381.25
68Brian AndersonT3$381.25
68Ben HartmanT3$381.25
68Fernando FigueroaT3$381.25
69Mike SternT7$200.00
69Clayton Gamber IIIT7$200.00
69Kyle WillmannT7$200.00
69Steve LeBrunT7$200.00
70Marshall PickettT11$128.34
70Brad KlapprottT11$128.34
70Mike AdamsonT11$128.34
71Tim TurpenT14$71.84
71David M. SmithT14$71.84
71Martin VikstromT14$71.84
71Taylor StewartT14$71.84
71Pierre-Henri SoeroT14$71.84
71Danny HowardT14$71.84
72John Van WartT20$15.25
72Eric ColeT20$15.25
72Devon QuigleyT20$15.25
72Josh McCumberT20$15.25

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved