61 for Terry Burke Sets New Course Record, Ties MLGT Tour Scoring Record
Mike Adamson 2nd with 62, Jimmy Lytle third with 64
Thursday, September 2, 2010

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Terry Burke of Bethesda, Md., earned his first victory on the Fuzion Minor League Golf Tour with a record 10 under par 61 Thursday on the Eagle course at President Country Club. Burke, 50, birdied the first three holes, then five in a row starting at the par-4 ninth.

Coincidentally, Burke finished about 20 minutes after Mike Adamson of Stuart had posted 62 to equal the previous record set in an MLGT event in April by Brandon Smith of West Palm Beach. Adamson had to run from the parking lot to the first tee with his golf bag slung over his shoulder to make his starting time.

Overall, Burke, who has been playing on the MLGT since January, 2009, birdied five of the nine holes on each side while Adamson also had 10 birdies but bogeyed the par-5 sixth hole. Adamson best birdie streak was four straight starting at the seventh. Burke earned $700, Adamson $500, from the $3,410 purse.

Jimmy Lytle was third with a 7-under par 64, four shots ahead of Derrick Bohannan in fourth with 68.  Kyle Willmann shot 69, Sunny Kim 70, and Pierre-Henri Soero 71.  The first tie was for eight place between Zac Amole, Jacob Korb and Taylor Stewart, who aced the par-3 fourteenth hole with a 4-iron for his second hole-in-one, first in competition. 

There was $100 in the skins pot with 3 skins out worth $33.34 each
#1 - Sunny Kim (Eagle)
#6 - Brett Bergeron
#15 - Victor Leoni

The President Classic

$5 per player contributed to the purse by Course

Event Details

Start: 9/2/2010
Rounds: 1

Players: 27
Entry: $170
Purse: $3410.02

Event Photos

61 - Terry Burke - $700* set course record

The President Country Club
2300 Presidential Way
West Palm Beach, FL  33401

(561) 686-4700

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
61Terry Burke1$700.00
62Mike Adamson2$500.00
64Jimmy Lytle3$450.00
68Derrick Bohannon4$350.00
69Kyle Willmann5$300.00
70Sunny Kim6$250.00
71Pierre-Henri Soero7$175.00
72Jacob KorbT8$128.34
72Taylor StewartT8$128.34
72Zach AmoleT8$128.34
73Victor LeoniT11$75.00
73Brett BergeronT11$75.00
73Gonzalo GrandaT11$75.00
73David McAndrewT11$75.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved