Eugene Smith wins Playoff over Jimmy Lytle and Justin Peters
Smith was in a 4 man playoff here in 2009 won by former PGA Tour member Steve Hart
Friday, November 5, 2010

PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. -  It would seem the odds were against Eugene Smith Friday as he faced MLGT all time leading money winner Jimmy Lytle and all time victory leader Justin Peters in a playoff at Santa Lucia River Club, but maybe the course owed him one. 

On this course in May of '09, it seemed like it was Eugene Smith's day.  He made a hole-in-one on the third hole and ended up in a 4-man playoff.  In that playoff he hit his tee shot OB on the first extra hole--the difficult par-4 18th, but made birdie with his second ball to score a bogey.  The other players had not done better.  Steve Hart was in position to win when his center cut 3 footer for par somehow did not fall, giving Smith new life.  Steve Hart made a 15 birdie putt on the second extra hole (hole #1) moments before Smith missed his 10 foot birdie try.

Today, in the playoff, Smith and Jimmy Lytle birdied the first extra hole (hole #1) and Smith won at the second when Lytle did not get up and down for par.

Windy, cool conditions made the trecherous Santa Lucia River Club even more difficult that usual.  After the three players in the playoff at 70, Amateur Alejandro Garmendia and Stephen Grant tied for fourth at even par 72, three shots ahead of a foursome at 3-over par 75.

The fourth annual Fuzion Minor League Golf Tour Match Play event starts Monday at The Fountains Country Club in Lake Worth.

There was $190 in the skins pot with 4 skins out worth $47.50 each.
#4 - Michael Mann (Eagle)
#7 - Eugene Smith
#10 - Adam Condello
#18 - Greg Pace

Event Details

Start: 11/5/2010
Rounds: 1

Players: 36
Entry: $180
Purse: $4459

Event Photos

70 - Eugene Smith - $800* won on third playoff hole

Santa Lucia River Club
3325 Ballantrae Blvd
Port St. Lucie, FL  34952

(772) 337-5315

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
70Eugene Smith1$800.00
70Jimmy LytleT2$515.00
70Justin PetersT2$515.00
72Stephen GrantT4$377.50
72Alejandro GarmendiaT4$377.50
75Chelsea CurtisT6$238.75
75Nick KenneyT6$238.75
75Steve LeBrunT6$238.75
75Andrew StephensT6$238.75
76Marc Issler10$165.00
77Ken MartinT11$110.00
77James DonahoeT11$110.00
77Dustin WallisT11$110.00
77Adam CondelloT11$110.00
77Jacob KorbT11$110.00
78Sunny KimT16$71.00
78Jesse LarsonT16$71.00
79Andrew GiulianiT18$31.00
79Matthieu Pavon (a)T18$31.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved