Greg O'Mahony birdies 1st extra hole to win playoff with Matt Springer
Windy Conditions at PGA National prevent field from breaking 70
Tuesday, January 25, 2011

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. – Greg O’Mahony birdied the first extra hole Tuesday and earned his 10th victory on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour. O’Mahony outlasted Matt Springer after they tied at two under par 70 on the Haig course at PGA National.

In the playoff, both missed the green at the short par-5 first hole in two. O’Mahony chipped to six feet and made the putt for the victory moments after Springer two-putted from eight feet for par. Coincidentally, in regulation O’Mahony bogeyed the first hole and Springer made birdie.

Overall, O’Mahony, of Tequesta, made four birdies and two bogeys, while Springer, of Stuart and Gary, Ind., had three birdies and one bogey. O’Mahony earned $1,000 from the $7,555 purse. Springer, second among 65 players, received $680.

Tim Turpen of West Palm Beach was third at 1-under par 71, followed by Steve LeBrun of West Palm Beach at even par 72 and Sunny Kim from New York with 73. Four players tied for 6th with 74.

The MLGT finishes the month Thursday with an 18-hole tournament at President CC, West Palm Beach, followed by a 36-hole event Monday and Tuesday at the Links at Madison Green, Royal Palm Beach.

There was $360 in the skins pot with 2 skins out worth $180 each.
#8 - Vaughn Snyder
#16 - Lawton Paseka

Event Details

Start: 1/25/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 65
Entry: $190
Purse: $7555

Event Photos

70 - Greg O' Mahony - $1,000* birdied first playoff hole

PGA National - Fazio
400 Avenue of the Champions
Palm Beach Gardens, FL  33418

(561) 627-2000

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
70Greg O'Mahony1$1,000.00
70Matt Springer2$680.00
71Tim Turpen3$585.00
72Steve LeBrun4$500.00
73Sunny Kim5$425.00
74Chris DamianoT6$312.50
74Jeff BorsT6$312.50
74Chad BouchardT6$312.50
74Mike CaporaleT6$312.50
75Aaron MurphyT10$202.50
75Derek FathauerT10$202.50
75Sal SpalloneT10$202.50
75Martin VikstromT10$202.50
75Scott HawleyT10$202.50
75Jimmy LytleT10$202.50
75Ben HartmanT10$202.50
75Whit StaplesT10$202.50
75Eddie PeckelsT10$202.50
75Kyle WillmannT10$202.50
76Scott ChisholmT20$90.00
76Vaughn SnyderT20$90.00
76Patrick D'AnthonyT20$90.00
76Kyle PetermanT20$90.00
77James DonahoeT24$77.00
77Mike O'Neal T24$77.00
77Mathieu RivardT24$77.00
77Matt TorranceT24$77.00
77Tim PuetzT24$77.00
77Danny SahlT24$77.00
78David M. SmithT30$68.00
78Bryan Shin (a)T30$68.00
78Nick AntonelliT30$68.00
79Jay Goldenberg (a)T33$12.80
79Matthew HicksT33$12.80
79Adam RainaudT33$12.80
79Eric BeringerT33$12.80
79Juan AllerT33$12.80
80Blake Stark T38$0.00
80Kyle MooreT38$0.00
80Will ColemanT38$0.00
80Scott DawsonT38$0.00
80Robert GickT38$0.00
81Brian FriederichsT43$0.00
81Marc MazzaT43$0.00
82Jim Fitzpatrick T45$0.00
82Andy GoldenT45$0.00
82Andrew LeyT45$0.00
82Rushi OzaT45$0.00
83Corey HenryT49$0.00
83Brandon Smith (a)T49$0.00
83Matt MajkaT49$0.00
84Jason Trout T52$0.00
84Paul J. RolloT52$0.00
84Mark Shulla (a)T52$0.00
85Zach ThompsonT55$0.00
85Chris AppelT55$0.00
86Michel FortierT57$0.00
86TJ Xeon (a)T57$0.00
87William Pugliese59$0.00
93Jake Schaffer (a)60$0.00
DNFSean Nee (a)T61$0.00
DNFRoss CosatT61$0.00
DNFRoy WegerleT61$0.00
DNFTim CantwellT61$0.00
DNFDustin WallisT61$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved