Scott Hawley wins by 2 over Justin Peters
Hawley now trails Q-School Contest leader Steve LeBrun by only $104.29 going into final event
Tuesday, February 8, 2011

WELLINGTON, Fla. – Scott Hawley of Shrewsbury, Mass., eagled the par-5 sixth hole during the second round Tuesday and it may have been the difference as he won on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour at Binks Forest Golf Club.

Coincidentally, Hawley made three birdies and two bogeys in each round in addition to the decisive eagle and shot 71-69—140 to win by two strokes. It was his seventh MLGT victory, his third this year. He earned $2,025 from the $14,543 purse.

Justin Peters, who won one of the 2009 MLGT Q-School Contests and has been playing the Nationwide Tour since, finished second, at (73-69) 142, two shots behind Hawley, followed by first round leader Michael Tobiason and Jimmy Lytle in a tie for third at 143.  Q-School Contest 1 leader Steve LeBrun was solo fifth.

The first 2011 Q-School Contest concludes on Thursday at the Fountains Country Club in Lake Worth with Steve LeBrun's lead over Hawley now just $104.29, and $419.93 over Jimmy Lytle.

There was $300 in the Day 2 skins pot with two skins out worth $150 each.
#6 - Justin Peters (Eagle)
#12 - Sunny Kim (Eagle)

1 Player, Michael Tobison, breaks 70 during windy opening round
Jimmy Lytle 1 back with 2-under par 70

WELLINGTON, Fla. - Michael Tobiason of Wilmington, DE shot a 3-under par 69 during a very windy opening round at The Binks Forest Golf Club. Tobiason, the only player to break 70, is one shot ahead of all time career money leader Jimmy Lytle.

As we finish the final week of Q-School Contest 1, it is still quite an interesting race. Lytle, who is currently second in the contest is 1 shot ahead of the Q-School contest leader Steve LeBrun and Scott Hawley (who is currently third in the contest).

There was $300 in the Day 1 skins pot with 3 skins out worth $100 each.

#1 - John Van Wart
#6 - Marc Andre Champagne (eagle)
#12 - Tim Turpen

Event Details

Start: 2/7/2011
Rounds: 2

Players: 57
Entry: $400
Purse: $14543.02

Event Photos
Canon Pictures

140 - Scott Hawley (71-69) - $2,025

Wellington National Golf Club
400 Binks Forest Drive
Wellington, FL  33414

(561) 333-5731

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
140 (71-69)Scott Hawley1$2,025.00
142 (73-69)Justin Peters2$1,450.00
143 (69-74)Michael TobiasonT3$1,125.00
143 (70-73)Jimmy LytleT3$1,125.00
144 (71-73)Steve LeBrun5$1,000.00
145 (76-69)Jason CaronT6$825.00
145 (77-68)Kyle WillmannT6$825.00
146 (75-71)Jon McLeanT8$600.00
146 (76-70)Gavin DearT8$600.00
147 (74-73)Philip AroucaT10$490.00
147 (74-73)Matt SpringerT10$490.00
148 (72-76)Tim TurpenT12$404.00
148 (74-74)Matt LeConcheT12$404.00
148 (74-74)Rick PriceT12$404.00
148 (74-74)Victor Perez (a)T12$404.00
148 (76-72)Matt DavidsonT12$404.00
149 (74-75)Josh DeWees (a)T17$178.34
149 (75-74)Matthieu Pavon (a)T17$178.34
149 (75-74)Chris DamianoT17$178.34
150 (80-70)Sunny KimT20$152.50
150 (80-70)Kevin BusteedT20$152.50
151 (77-74)Bobby Collins22$148.00
152 (77-75)Raul SanzT23$145.00
152 (78-74)John StoltzT23$145.00
153 (75-78)Sal SpalloneT25$139.00
153 (77-76)James DonahoeT25$139.00
153 (78-75)Patricio SalemT25$139.00
153 (78-75)Chris ScialoT25$139.00
154 (78-76)Brandon Smith (a)29$134.00
155 (77-78)Alexandre OuelletteT30$0.00
155 (78-77)Jeff BorsT30$0.00
155 (79-76)Vaughn SnyderT30$0.00
156 (73-83)Kyler MurphyT33$0.00
156 (79-77)Marshall PickettT33$0.00
156 (79-77)Corey HenryT33$0.00
156 (80-76)Greg PaceT33$0.00
156 (82-74)Jim Fitzpatrick T33$0.00
156 (82-74)Frank DullyT33$0.00
156 (85-71)Pierre RelecomT33$0.00
158 (77-81)Marc-Andre ChampagneT40$0.00
158 (81-77)Will ColemanT40$0.00
158 (82-76)Chad MichaelT40$0.00
160 (77-83)John Van WartT43$0.00
160 (79-81)Mike CaporaleT43$0.00
160 (83-77)Dustin WallisT43$0.00
161 (76-85)Kevin Loftus46$0.00
163 (79-84)Scott Ford47$0.00
164 (82-82)William Pugliese48$0.00
166 (86-80)Jay Goldenberg (a)T49$0.00
166 (87-79)Jason Trout T49$0.00
166 (88-78)Jean-Sebastien LegareT49$0.00
172 (87-85)Sandro Piaget 52$0.00
174 (83-91)Sean Perkins (a)53$0.00
182 (94-88)Christopher Dymek55$0.00
WDGuy AntonacciT56$0.00
WDScott DawsonT56$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved