Amateur Ben Taylor wins 1 hole playoff with Alexis Thompson
Taylor birdied first extra hole to win
Friday, March 11, 2011

TAMARAC, Fla. – Ben Taylor, an amateur from London, England, making his first start on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour, birdied the first playoff hole to claim the title Friday at Woodmont Country Club.

Taylor outlasted Alexis Thompson of nearby Coral Springs after they tied at three under par 69 on the Cypress course. He had bogeyed his final hole, the par-3 ninth, but in the playoff he birdied the par-5 10th from 10 feet. Moments later Thompson two-putted for par, missing her birdie from nine feet.

In regulation, Taylor made five birdies and two bogeys, Thompson four birdies and one bogey. She earned her first MLGT victory Feb.21 at TPC Eagle Trace in Coral Springs. Because he is an amateur, Taylor’s share of the $950 first place prize was limited to a $750 merchandise certificate. Thompson, a 16-year-old home-schooled professional, was second among 45 starters.  She received the additional $200 in her check for $775 as the low pro.

There was $240 in the skins pot with 3 skins out worth $80 each.
Carlos Lara #9
Alexis Thompson #13
Gonzalo Granda #14

Woodmont Classic

Cypress Course

Event Details

Start: 3/11/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 45
Entry: $190
Purse: $5363.05

Event Photos

69 - Ben Taylor (a) - $750* Gift Certificate* won in playoff

Woodmont Country Club
7801 NW 80th Avenue
Tamarac, FL  33321

(954) 722-4300

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
69Lexi Thompson2$775.00
69Ben Taylor1 $750.00
70Ben SilvermanT3$437.50
70Tim TurpenT3$437.50
72Chris DamianoT5$251.43
72Nick BovaT5$251.43
72Louis-Alexandre PitreT5$251.43
72Nicholas ThompsonT5$251.43
72Jimmy LytleT5$251.43
72Gregg BlaineyT5$251.43
72Kevin FoleyT5$251.43
73Rick PriceT12$116.88
73Chase CarrollT12$116.88
73Burgess HoustonT12$116.88
73Matt LeConcheT12$116.88
73Brad AdamonisT12$116.88
73Mike FieldT12$116.88
73Andrew FarrellT12$116.88
73Derrick BohannonT12$116.88
74Dustin ConeT20$69.00
74Marc-Andre ChampagneT20$69.00
75Vaughn SnyderT22$26.00
75Joe LoehnisT22$26.00
75Jordan HolleyT22$26.00
75Carlos LaraT22$26.00
75Roger FurrerT22$26.00
76Josh SchraderT27$0.00
76Andrew Mangini (a)T27$0.00
77Marc MazzaT29$0.00
77Mike CaporaleT29$0.00
77Tim HossT29$0.00
80Nathan DavisT32$0.00
80John Van WartT32$0.00
80Josh SpeightT32$0.00
81Chris Scialo35$0.00
82Alexander Lynch (a)36$0.00
83Devin KayT37$0.00
83Gonzalo GrandaT37$0.00
84Patrick AnglinT39$0.00
84Tim WalkerT39$0.00
85William Pugliese41$0.00
86Raquel Riley42$0.00
87Ray Keeter43$0.00
DNFAndy Golden44$0.00
DQRJ Drucker (a)45$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved