Jacob Korb breaks 70 both days, wins by 1 over Mike Stern
13 players within $1600 of lead with 5 playing days left in Q-School Contest 5
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

BOYNTON BEACH, Fla. – Jacob Korb of Jupiter and Newtown, Pa., made his first round lead hold up Tuesday as he won for the eighth time on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour, the third time this year.

The only player to break 70 the first round, Korb posted 69-68—137 to win by one stroke on the East course at Indian Spring Country Club. He made only one bogey in 36 holes, at the par-4 fifth hole Monday, and scored four birdies each day, earning $1,720 from the $8,265 purse.

Mike Stern of Orlando, looking for his first MLGT victory, was second among 29 starters at 70-68—138, receiving $1,200. He had 12 birdies for the distance and three bogeys each day.

Sal Spallone of Vero Beach earned $1,000 after carding 70-69—139 for a solo third place finish, followed by Steve LeBrun and Brenton Flynn at 140. Flynn, from Nashville, Tenn., now leads the final Q-school contest of 2011 by $106.33 over Mike Stern and $155 over Korb.

Chris Damiano of Jupiter fired a final round 67 to grab solo sixth place.

Another 36-hole MLGT tournament is scheduled Thursday and Friday on the North Course at Fountains CC, in Lake Worth.

Brad Tiley won the whole Day 1 skins pot of $180 with a birdie on #13. Ben Hartman made birdie on #3 and Victor Leoni birdied #14 to split the $170 Day 2 skins pot, $85 a piece.

Event Details

Start: 7/25/2011
Rounds: 2

Players: 29
Entry: $380
Purse: $8265

Event Photos
Canon Pictures

137 - Jacob Korb (69-68) - $1,720

Indian Spring - East Course
11501 El Clair Ranch Road
Boynton Beach, FL  33437

(561) 737-5510

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
137 (69-68)Jacob Korb1$1,720.00
138 (70-68)Mike Stern2$1,200.00
139 (70-69)Sal Spallone3$1,000.00
140 (70-70)Steve LeBrunT4$775.00
140 (73-67)Brenton FlynnT4$775.00
141 (74-67)Chris Damiano6$575.00
143 (73-70)Ben HartmanT7$425.00
143 (73-70)Devin KayT7$425.00
144 (73-71)Brandon Smith (a)9$325.00
145 (72-73)Steven RistT10$193.75
145 (75-70)Bobby CollinsT10$193.75
145 (75-70)Brad TilleyT10$193.75
145 (77-68)Jimmy LytleT10$193.75
146 (76-70)Olin Browne Jr.T14$135.00
146 (78-68)Erik AspT14$135.00
147 (74-73)Mike AdamsonT16$0.00
147 (75-72)Victor LeoniT16$0.00
147 (76-71)Tim TurpenT16$0.00
148 (73-75)Rushi Oza19$0.00
149 (76-73)Matt Hungerman20$0.00
152 (74-78)Morten OrvelandT21$0.00
152 (75-77)Jacopo Giulio Mazzola (a)T21$0.00
152 (79-73)Will ColemanT21$0.00
155 (78-77)Andy Quintero (a)24$0.00
156 (76-80)Ryan Lefevre25$0.00
157 (78-79)David M. Smith26$0.00
158 (83-75)Dan Gibler27$0.00
164 (81-83)Allie Bodemann28$0.00
168 (85-83)Vance DeMartini (a)29$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved