Alejandro Garmendia wins 2-Day Event by 1 shot
Adam Adams and Will Coleman tie for second at -6
Thursday, September 29, 2011

PLANTATION, Fla. – Alejandro Garmendia of Weston overcame bogies on the first hole two days in a row to win a Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour event Thursday at Jacaranda Golf Club. Both days, he rallied to score 68-67—135 on the par-71 East course, winning by one stroke.

After his shaky starts, Garmendia birdied the ninth, 10th and 11th holes both days and also birdied No. 12 Wednesday. He made five birdies each round and three bogeys overall and earned $2,000 from the $9,554 purse. It was Garmendia’s second MLGT victory. He won June 6 at Indian Spring west of Boynton Beach.

There were 34 starters in the MLGT’s 105th tournament of the year, including Alexis Thompson, 16, of Coral Springs who recently became the youngest winner in LPGA tournament history. Earlier in the day it was announced her application for LPGA membership in 2012 was approved. Previously, the minimum age was 18. Playing the course about 200 yards shorter than the men, she shot 72-70—142 here, tied for eighth.

There was $200 in the Day 2 skins pot with 5 skins out worth $40 each.
#1 - Adam Adams
#8 - Josh De Wees
#12- Lexi Thompson
#13- Eric Beringer
#18- Carlos Velez

Matt Springer won the whole Day 1 skins pot of $210 with and eagle on the 5th hole.

2-Day Qualifying School Tune Up

EAST COURSE. Come play a 2-Day event on one of the Nationwide Tour Miccosukee Classic Qualifier Courses

Event Details

Start: 9/28/2011
Rounds: 2

Players: 34
Entry: $380
Purse: $9554

Event Photos

135 - Alejandro Garmendia (68-67) - $2,000

Jacaranda Golf Club - East Course
9200 West Broward Boulevard
Plantation, FL  33324

(954) 472-5836

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
135 (68-67)Alejandro Garmendia1$2,000.00
136 (67-69)Adam AdamsT2$1,162.50
136 (68-68)Will ColemanT2$1,162.50
138 (71-67)Carlos Velez4$925.00
139 (66-73)Tim Cantwell5$800.00
140 (69-71)Brandon Smith (a)6$700.00
141 (72-69)Johnny Bloomfield7$550.00
142 (71-71)Terry BurkeT8$338.75
142 (72-70)Devin KayT8$338.75
142 (72-70)Lexi ThompsonT8$338.75
142 (72-70)Steve LeBrunT8$338.75
143 (71-72)Sunny KimT12$165.00
143 (71-72)Juan C. PerelloT12$165.00
143 (72-71)Jimmy GascoigneT12$165.00
144 (68-76)Tim Turpen15$140.00
145 (71-74)Victor LeoniT16$66.00
145 (71-74)Matt SpringerT16$66.00
145 (73-72)Pat ElberT16$66.00
145 (74-71)Christian De GreiffT16$66.00
146 (71-75)Jeff IvallT20$0.00
146 (74-72)Joe Shaktman (a)T20$0.00
146 (76-70)Bobby BodeT20$0.00
147 (75-72)Jared FishmanT23$0.00
147 (76-71)Zach AmoleT23$0.00
147 (77-70)David M. SmithT23$0.00
148 (74-74)Peter Laws26$0.00
149 (74-75)Adam Murchison T27$0.00
149 (75-74)Brian FriederichsT27$0.00
150 (73-77)Eric BeringerT29$0.00
150 (75-75)Rushi OzaT29$0.00
164 (82-82)Josh DeWees (a)31$0.00
79-WDWayne De HaasT32$0.00
81-WDMartin VikstromT32$0.00
91-DNFChristopher CoukosT32$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved