Carlos Velez wins playoff with Jon Orchin & Alejandro Garmendia
After shooting 69, Velez birdied first extra hole
Monday, March 26, 2012

PLANTATION, Fla. – Carlos Velez of Miami overcame a double bogey on the first hole Monday with a birdie when he played the hole a second time in a playoff to earn his third victory on the Tour.

Playing the East course at Jacaranda Golf Club, Velez outlasted Jonathan Orchin of Jupiter and Alejandro Garmendia of Weston after they tied at two under par 69. Velez birdied the par-4 first hole from 15 feet after Orchin two-putted from 14 feet and Garmendia made par after his second shot missed the green.

After his shaggy start, Velez made five birdies and a bogey the rest of the way. He earned $1,000 from the $4,783 purse, raising his career earnings to $11,837 since July, 2010. Orchin and Garmendia, tied for second among 39 starters, received $550 apiece.

The Golfslinger Tour plays a 36-hole tournament Wednesday and Thursday at the Champions Club at Summerfield in Stuart, its 31st event of the year.

There was $200 in the skins pot with 5 skins out worth $40 each.

4- Martin Vikstrom
7- Billy Houle
10- Sunny Kim
12- Matt Springer
13- Liam Friedman

Event Details

Start: 3/26/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 39
Entry: $200
Purse: $4793

Event Photos

69 - Carlos Velez - $1,000* birdied first playoff hole

Jacaranda Golf Club - East Course
9200 West Broward Boulevard
Plantation, FL  33324

(954) 472-5836

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
69Carlos Velez1$1,000.00
69Alejandro GarmendiaT2$550.00
69Jonathan OrchinT2$550.00
70Hector ZapataT3$325.00
70Devin KayT3$325.00
70Pontus BrannenT3$325.00
71Liam FriedmanT6$212.00
71Daniel ObremskiT6$212.00
71Pierre-Henri SoeroT6$212.00
72Jim Fitzpatrick T10$143.75
72Julien GouletT10$143.75
72Joachim AltonenT10$143.75
72Mark SmithT10$143.75
73Soo "Eric" AhnT14$78.00
73Billy HouleT14$78.00
74Sunny KimT16$71.00
74Marc MazzaT16$71.00
74Mike FieldT16$71.00
74Matt SpringerT16$71.00
75Jimmy LytleT20$33.50
75Jonas MagnussonT20$33.50
76AJ GerlachT22$0.00
76Jared FishmanT22$0.00
77Brandon Smith (a)T24$0.00
77Jeremy HarrisonT24$0.00
78Philip Arouca26$0.00
79Julian Gil T27$0.00
79Stevenson Clarke (a)T27$0.00
79Matthew GribschawT27$0.00
80Justin FonsecaT30$0.00
80Justin BartlettT30$0.00
80Martin VikstromT30$0.00
81Jimmy Gascoigne33$0.00
82Ned KeiserT34$0.00
82Trevor SahnT34$0.00
83Michel FortierT36$0.00
83Marcelo Jakubovic (a)T36$0.00
86Kristaps Gulbis (a)38$0.00
NCWarren Jurkowitz39$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved