Brooks Koepka wins playoff with Ben Silverman after shooting 66
Silverman won the event and the $1,000 Bonus Contest 8 Yesterday
Friday, August 31, 2012

WELLINGTON, Fla. – Brooks Koepka of Lake Worth, back home after playing on the European Challenge Tour for several weeks, won his second start on the Tour on Friday at The Wanderers Club.

Koepka outlasted Ben Silverman of Palm Beach Gardens with a two-putt par-5 on the second extra hole after they tied at six under par 66. They halved the par-4 first playoff hole with birdies, then Silverman hit his second shot into a bunker at No. 2.

In regulation, Koepka eagled the par-5 17th hole after making six birdies and two bogeys on the first 15 holes. He earned $1,000 from the $2,395 purse. Silverman, second among 15 players, overcame a double bogey at the par-4 fourth hole with five birdies and a bogey on each nine. He received $425.

A three-time Atlantic Coast Conference player of the year at Florida State after winning the state high school championship at Cardinal Newman, Koepka made his first Golfslinger start Thursday at Emerald Hills and shot 82. Silverman was the winner at Emerald Hills, his fourth career Golfslinger victory, second in 10 days.

There was $80 in the skins pot with 8 skins out worth $11.50 each.

1- Matt Springer
3- Will Coleman
6,18- Ben Silverman
12,16- Sal Spallone
17- Brooks Koepka

Wellington Clasic

This event was rescheduled from Monday 8/27 to Friday 8/31 due to the effects of tropical storm Isaac.

Event Details

Start: 8/31/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 15
Entry: $200
Purse: $2385

Event Photos

66 - Brooks Koepka - $1,000 *First win on the MLGT

The Wanderers Club
1900 Aero Club Drive
Wellington, FL  33414

(561) 795-3510

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
66Brooks Koepka1 $1,000.00
66Ben Silverman2$425.00
68Sunny KimT3$265.00
68Sal SpalloneT3$265.00
70Jacob KorbT5$120.00
70Tim TurpenT5$120.00
70Ben SuarezT5$120.00
71Hernan Rey8$70.00
72Matt Springer9$0.00
73Will ColemanT10$0.00
73Zach AmoleT10$0.00
76Tommy Giles12$0.00
84Adam Hale13$0.00
NCWayne De Haas15$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved