Nicholas Thompson wins by 2 in first Fuzion MLGT Event
Tim Turpen shoots 68 to finish solo second
Monday, January 10, 2011

PLANTATION, Fla. – Nicholas Thompson of Coral Springs, making his first start on the Fuzion Minor League Golf Tour, fired an unusual five under par 66 for the victory Monday on the East course at Jacaranda Golf Club. Thompson made five birdies in a bogey-free round, none on the par-5 holes. He birdied Nos. 2, 4, 10, 13 and 18.

Thompson, who was born on Christmas Day 1982, played on the PGA Tour in 2006 and 2008-10 but failed to requalify for the 2011 season. However, he has full status on the Nationwide Tour where he won the HSBC New Zealand PGA Championship in 2007. He earned $1,000 from the $7,023 purse Monday.

Tim Turpen of West Palm Beach was second among 60 starters at 68 with seven birdies, including four in a row starting at No. 13, a bogey and a double bogey. Matt Springer and Thompson’s sister, Alexis, 16, tied for third at 69, receiving $532.50.

The MLGT’s third and fourth tournaments of its eighth season are scheduled Tuesday at PGA National, Estate course, Palm Beach Gardens, and Thursday at The Evergreen Club, Palm City.

There was $390 in the skins pot with 2 out worth $195 each.
#2 - Nicholas Thompson
#9 - Vaughn Snyder (Eagle)

Event Details

Start: 1/10/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 60
Entry: $190
Purse: $7033.11

Event Photos

66 - Nicholas Thompson - $1,000* first win on the MLGT

Jacaranda Golf Club - East Course
9200 West Broward Boulevard
Plantation, FL  33324

(954) 472-5836

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
66Nicholas Thompson1$1,000.00
68Tim Turpen2$650.00
69Matt SpringerT3$532.50
69Lexi ThompsonT3$532.50
70Jimmy Lytle5$425.00
71Marc MazzaT6$323.34
71Andy GoldenT6$323.34
71Alejandro GarmendiaT6$323.34
72Jerel WhitingT9$270.00
72Jon McLeanT9$270.00
73Jim Fitzpatrick T11$230.00
73Chris DamianoT11$230.00
74Hector ZapataT13$141.67
74John StoltzT13$141.67
74Steve LeBrunT13$141.67
74Nick CupperT13$141.67
74Craig SmithT13$141.67
74Scott Turner (a)T13$141.67
74Kris LimT13$141.67
74Daniele CabrilesT13$141.67
74Devin KayT13$141.67
75Mike WalkerT22$77.00
75Frank DullyT22$77.00
75Scot PlouchaT22$77.00
75Santos CaceresT22$77.00
76Martin CataliotoT26$48.58
76Juan AllerT26$48.58
76Sunny KimT26$48.58
76Vaughn SnyderT26$48.58
76Jeff IvallT26$48.58
76James DonahoeT26$48.58
76Chris ScialoT26$48.58
77Gerrit KocksT33$0.00
77Jeff BorsT33$0.00
77John Van WartT33$0.00
77Dan GreenwoodT33$0.00
78Corey BrighamT37$0.00
78Jared FishmanT37$0.00
78Ed KingstonT37$0.00
78William Block (a)T37$0.00
79John VionT41$0.00
79Jay Goldenberg (a)T41$0.00
79David M. SmithT41$0.00
79Mike FieldT41$0.00
80Marc-Andre RoyT45$0.00
80Matt MajkaT45$0.00
80Ben BoudreauT45$0.00
81Corey HenryT48$0.00
81Juan C. PerelloT48$0.00
83Josh DeWees (a)T50$0.00
83Chris HagyT50$0.00
84TJ Xeon (a)52$0.00
85Michel FortierT53$0.00
85Brian Cass (a)T53$0.00
86Louie Benjamin55$0.00
88Alan Tempkins (a)56$0.00
DNFStephen GrantT57$0.00
DNFJordan HolleyT57$0.00
DQMarshall PickettT57$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved