Jimmy Lytle, Jon McLean, Brandon Smith, & Carlos Velez shoot 70
Playoff goes six holes before McLean wins with birdie
Thursday, June 9, 2011

MIAMI, Fla. – Jon McLean of Weston birdied the sixth extra hole Thursday at Miccosukee Golf Club to earn his third victory on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour.

McLean tied at one under par 70 with three other players on the Marlin and Dolphin nines. Host professional Carlos Velez and Brandon Smith of West Palm Beach were eliminated with par-4s on the first extra hole, No. 13.

Then Jimmy Lytle of Ocean Ridge pushed McLean as they halved the next four holes: par-4s at the 18th, par-5s at the 10th, par-3s the 11th and par-4s at the 12th. Returning to the 10th, McLean chipped to three feet from short of the green and made the birdie putt moments after Lytle parred the hole.

It was the highest winning score on the MLGT since Kyle Willmann won April 29 with 71 at Santa Lucia River Club, Port St. Lucie, and the longest playoff since March 7 when John Stoltz also won over six holes at Abacoa GC, Jupiter.

In regulation, McLean and Smith each had four birdies and three bogeys, Velez three birdies and two bogeys, and Lytle two birdies and one bogey. Lytle is second all time on the MLGT with 29 victories, Smith has eight and Velez one.

There were 27 starters.

Next week, the MLGT plays Tuesday and Wednesday at Evergreen Club, Palm City, and Friday at Champions Club, Stuart.

There was $170 in the skins pot with 5 skins out worth $34 each.
#6,#10 (Eagle) - Matt Springer
#11 - Tim Turpen (Hole-in-one)
#14 - Carlos Velez
#15 - Ben Hartman

Event Details

Start: 6/9/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 27
Entry: $180
Purse: $3375.04

Event Photos

70 - Jon Mclean - $725* birdied sixth playoff hole

Miccosukee Golf & Country Club
6401 Kendale Lakes Drive
Miami, FL  33183

(305) 382-3930

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
70Jon McLean1$725.00
70Carlos VelezT2$450.00
70Brandon Smith (a)T2$450.00
70Jimmy LytleT2$450.00
71Bobby TracyT5$218.34
71Greg O'MahonyT5$218.34
71Jason Burstyn T5$218.34
72Bobby BodeT8$135.00
72Ben HartmanT8$135.00
73Matt SpringerT10$83.34
73David JohnsonT10$83.34
73James DonahoeT10$83.34
74Sal SpalloneT13$62.50
74Tim TurpenT13$62.50
75Taylor StewartT15$0.00
75Andrew LeyT15$0.00
75Julian Gil T15$0.00
76Mike Stern18$0.00
77Alejandro Garmendia19$0.00
78Hector ZapataT20$0.00
78Brian FoyT20$0.00
79John Vion22$0.00
80Andy GoldenT23$0.00
80Mike McMahonT23$0.00
81Bobby Collins25$0.00
85Mustapha Assorhani26$0.00
93William Bertoni27$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved