David Vanegas wins 4 hole playoff over Devin Kay
Steve LeBrun, Dion Gonsalves, and James Porter tie for 3rd
Thursday, October 13, 2011

HOLLYWOOD, Fla. – David Vanegas of Medellin, Colombia, making his first start on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour, birdied the fourth extra hole for the victory Thursday at The Club at Emerald Hills.

Vanegas outlasted Devin Kay of Potomac, Md., after they tied at four under par 68. They halved the par-5 first and par-3 third holes and in between matched bogeys at the par-4 second. At the par-4 fourth, Vanegas sank a 50 footer and got the win when Kay missed his birdie opportunity from eight feet.

In regulation, Vanegas had seven birdies, a bogey and a double bogey at the par-5 fifth hole while Kay made six birdies and two bogeys. Vanegas earned $800 from the $3,840 purse. Kay, second among 30 players, received $575.

Dion Gonsalves, Steve LeBrun and James Porter all shot 69 to finish in a 3-way tie for third place.

Three 18-hole events are scheduled next week: Monday, Champions Club at Summerfield, Stuart; Tuesday, Ritz-Carlton GC, Jupiter; and Thursday, President CC, West Palm Beach.

There was $180 in the skins pot with 4 skins out worth $45 each.
#1- James Porter (Eagle)      
#7- Christian DeGreiff
#11,#18- Dion Gonsalves

Event Details

Start: 10/13/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 30
Entry: $190
Purse: $3840

Event Photos

68 - David Vanegas - $800 *First win on the FuZion MLGT

The Club at Emerald Hills
4100 N. Hills Drive
Hollywood, FL  33021

(954) 961-4000

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
68David Vanegas1$800.00
68Devin Kay2$575.00
69James PorterT3$375.00
69Steve LeBrunT3$375.00
69Dion GonsalvesT3$375.00
72Peter LawsT6$212.50
72Adam AdamsT6$212.50
73Joe Shaktman (a)T8$160.00
73Victor LeoniT8$160.00
73Jeff IvallT8$160.00
74Thomas Dobbs T11$92.50
74David M. SmithT11$92.50
74Alejandro GarmendiaT11$92.50
74Ben SilvermanT11$92.50
75Hector ZapataT15$32.50
75Tom CarterT15$32.50
76Mike SternT17$0.00
76Christian De GreiffT17$0.00
76Justin MartinsonT17$0.00
77Daniel ObremskiT20$0.00
77Victor BillskoogT20$0.00
77Zach AmoleT20$0.00
78Greg DuncanT23$0.00
78Chad Stumpo (a)T23$0.00
80Nathan DavisT25$0.00
80John VionT25$0.00
82Zack Saltman27$0.00
83David Schuster28$0.00
84William Block (a)29$0.00
85John Lucas30$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved